A Thankful Reflection- Meet My Family

As many of my long-time fans know, my definition of “family” is a lot different than most. Being adopted, and really only knowing two blood-related human beings to myself (my kids, cause I gave birth to them) I view family in a different light then most. Family, to me, are those that you CHOOSE to call family. They are the people who inspire you, that challenge you to be better. They are the people who laugh with you, that offer a shoulder to cry on. They are the ones that hold you up to stand when you feel like you just can’t stand on your own, and those that stand behind you in the wings when it is your turn to shine. These people tell you when you are out of line, and will tell you what you are doing may not be the best thing to be doing at the time.

A little while ago, I was feeling quite lonely. I do not have many friends in my area, and almost all the people who I do know are people I have met through school functions, and are more acquaintances. I was feeling lost, and very lonely, and all of a sudden I realized something. I DO have a family. A family of such close friends, that through years, have ALWAYS been there for me. They are the most fiercely loyal, honest, loving people I have ever met, and I am proud to call them family. Here is the shocking part of all of this: I have never met a single one of them in person. All of these wonderful human beings that I hold so dear to my heart are spread out all over the world. And all of them are irreplaceable in my life. So tonight,as I sit here contemplating all I have to be thankful for, I know in my heart, I am most thankful for this misfit group of people who I am proud to call my family.

Let’s meet some of this motley crew.

Destry is the owner and artist behind Pet Zombie Creations. She loves the Golden Girls, and her puppies. Her amazing husband Stephen has allowed Destry to paint her house in a complete rainbow of colors, and her style is so eclectic and funky, that I cannot help but smile when I look at her artwork on my walls, or wear one of her necklaces. Destry is passionate, and caring. She is the person that makes me smile with her quiet understanding, and soft humor.

Destry makes awesome jewelry boxes, too. TARDIS box anyone?

Jinx is the owner and designer at MT Coffinz. She pretty much is a robot that sews more than I do on a daily basis, and creates the most beautiful tutus and accessories. She is also a mom, and……..about the only goth farmer that I have ever known. SHE HAS CHICKENS! I am so jealous. Jinx is also an amazing business owner, I honestly look to her as my “prime example” of what I would one day like BVG to become. She is fiercely loyal, honest, and amazingly strong. I feel grateful to have such an amazing woman in my life.

Jinx is totally camera-shy, but her tutus are NOT!

Krissi is the owner over at Krissi’s Art Studio. Not only is she an amazing artist, but she is also the ONE person that I know will talk me down off a ledge. When I have a rough day, and am about to throw up my hands, and give up, Krissi is there with a level head. He has a lawyer mentality, and a will of steel. Someone once told Krissi she would be really sorry she was ever friends with me, because one day, she would really see how I am. Guess we proved them wrong, huh? 😉

Krissi also does makeup tutorials on a rare occasion. She is BEAUTIFUL!

Mara is the amazing seamstress over at Indiscretion. Mara and I have been through a lot of personal trials together. I can honestly say, sitting here right this second, that I owe Mara my life. Mara was, to me, the strong rock I needed a few years ago when I felt my life was crumbling. She helped me pull myself out. She understands me on a deeper level then I allow most other people see me. She inspires me as an artist, as she is one of the most talented seamstresses I know, he creations grace the figures of many public figures. She is simply amazing.

This mama simply amazes me. ❤

Rhiannon is the snarky gal behind Rocky The Zombie. She is not only one of my dearest friends from across the pond, but she also is one of the SMARTEST people who I know. She is always a level-head when I need one. She is very organized when I am not. I tend to be comfortable in what I like to call “organized chaos” and Rhi is a good balance to that when I need it. Rhi and I have plans to take over the world together. Pretty sure I couldn’t do it with anyone else.

There is not a week that goes by in this house that SOMEONE does not wear one of Rhi’s designs.

There are so many more that I did not mention here, people who have been there for me, people I have met while I have been on this wild adventure of owning my own business. All of the amazing people who I have met along the way, and have held me up, made me smile, inspired me, or made me take pause, THESE are the people I am thankful for this Thanksgiving. These are the people who make me keep going, that make me see the good in the world. They are the ones that help me through the day, when I am not sure I can without crying.

These girls, and many many others, are the people that I proudly call my family. And for that, I am thankful.

4 thoughts on “A Thankful Reflection- Meet My Family

  1. Yep. I still haven’t learned my lesson and I’m totally not sorry!! You’ve talked me off plenty a ledge too, and have inspired me to try new stuff as well. We rock. So do all those chosen family-members you mentioned and many more besides!

Leave a Reply

