Why Gory got cut off the boob

Real quick, My girlfriends over on Twitter wanted the quick run-down on why I cut Gory off of breastfeeding so quickly. Like, within a millisecond.

It was September 25, and I was happily nursing Gory still almost 5 times a day. He was eating some solids, mostly mush. He had his bottom front 2 teeth, and his top two side teeth, with the front ones just under the skin. I had already picked Evan up from school, fed Gory his afternoon boob, and gotten dinner ready. Greg came home, we ate, and Gory was fussy, so I figured he wanted to be nursed again.

Well, as you parents of mor then one child well know, when you have older kids, they rile up the babies, and make them get a little crazy. So Evan was jumping all over, and I was trying to nurse. Gory was watching Evan with his eyes, and started wiggling. All of the sudden, there was a searing pain in my breast, and Gory was CLAMPED DOWN ON THE TIP OF MY NIPPLE! It was like OMGWTF!!!!!!  He would NOT LET GO! He was biting so hard, he was SHAKING!. I plugged his nose, and he finally let go to breathe, but by that point, the damage was already done.

I had blood streaming out of my breast, mixed with milk. Greg grabbed Gory, who was crying now, and had blood in him mouth, and grabbed a towel. We all piled into the car, and drove to the ER.

Now, the reason I NORMALLY do not share this, is because I NEVER want to scare anyone OFF breastfeeding,. I am grateful that I did it for over 7 months, I wish I was STILL doing it. Breastmilk is the best thing for babies, and I wich all babies could get boob juice. But Gory is a strange one. When I was done at the ER, they told me that I could have gotten stitches, but that keeping the area clean, and wrapped tightly (like around my whole torso) it would heal on it’s own.

Having my milk dry up while being bound was not fun.

10 thoughts on “Why Gory got cut off the boob

  1. I’m slightly surprised they didn’t give you something to dry you up, or did they? There are some drugs which have been known to stop lactation after one dose.

  2. Nope, no drugs. I just wanted to get the hell out of that ER, and try to smile when Gory screamed at me the next day. Did I mention that he had colic up until he was about 8 months old?

  3. Ouch, ouch, OUCH!!
    My mum breastfed me till I was a year old or so cause I didn’t try to bite off her boobie! Goodness gracious, Gory really is one of a kind!

  4. Gavin drew blood at 10 months, no real damage bit if I didn’t cut him off that day we would have way to similar a story… Lil just plain won’t nurse so I guess I won’t have an issue with her.

  5. Pingback: Tweets that mention Why Gory got cut off the boob « Brooke Van Gory Designs -- Topsy.com

  6. Having only nursed my older 2 for a short period, I had no idea this happened (or, judging by your commenters, how frequently!). I’m stunned, and terrified. The baby is currently getting in 4 teeth, and I’m REALLY afraid of this!

  7. Wow! Yikes! Cubby has bitten me once – he didn’t have ANY teeth and I yelped so loud it startled him enough to let go and then he CRIED AND CRIED. Not sure if it was because I scared him or that he realized he lost the boob… but since then, I have been lucky. He is now 17 months (almost 18 months) and we’re still nursing 2x a day…

  8. yeah, they all bite me at one point or another and then learned that that wasn’t ok, but Daphne got me good like that! Well, maybe not quite that bad, but it did bleed and scab over!
    I suffered though it though and for like a week it was sever pain to nurse her on that side! I cut back to where I only nursed off that side every 2 or 3 nursing! My other side produced more anyway!
    She went on to nurse till she was almost 18 months.

Leave a Reply

