Recipe! Kid, and husband friendly VEGETARIAN lasagna!

To try to get my guys to eat anything deemed “vegetarian” is like pulling teeth. They will fight me tooth and nail on the subject. Never would a peice of tofu pass their lips. But they both LOVE this recipe. And the best thing about it? It is big enough for the 4 of us to eat for dinner one night, then I can freeze the leftovers, and have ANOTHER meal for all 4 of us a week or 2 later!

1 package lasagna noodles ( I like the type that you don’t need to boil prior. Cuts down prep time)

1 large container of ricotta cheese, low fat

1 bag fresh baby spinach

1 bag shredded mozerella (1/3 C set aside for topping)

1 TBS Italian seasoning

2 eggs

1/3 cup parmesan cheese

1 jar pasta sauce

1 scallion, finely chopped

2 cloves garlic, finely chopped

Pre-heat oven to 400.
Mix in a bowl the eggs, parmesan cheese, Italian seasoning, scallions, garlic, and ricotta until mixed. Start to layer in a 9X13 glass baking dish, spraying the bottom first with some cooking spray. Layer like this: noodles, ricotta mixture, spinach leaves (lay flat), mozarella. When you come to the top, end with noodles, and pour jar of sauce over the top noodle layer. Bake at 400 for 35 minutes. After 35 minutes, pull 1/2 way out, sprinkle on remaining mozarella, and then return to oven until the cheese has melted.

Sometimes, for an even LOWER fat version, I substitute the ricotta with cottage cheese. It is EXACTLY the same.  Promise!

Gerg and Monkey sometimes like some ground turkey in there, but I am not a fan. Also, mushrooms would be good in there, too, but the boys will NOT eat them. **sigh**

Family scores from 1-10:

Gerg: 8 He just likes it more if I add mean. What can I say……He still loves it with the spinach, so if I can get him to eat THIS, then anyone’s hubby will eat it! Also, sometimes in the fall, I thinly slice squash, and use THAT as the lasagna noodles! They boys have NEVER noticed! NEVER! 😉

Moi: 10

Monkey: 9

Gory: **applause**

Final: Easy to freeze, and easy to make. I can make this while Gory is in his sling. Toss in a side salad, and garlic bread, and it is a perfect dish for guests, too! 😉 This is a staple in our house!

3 thoughts on “Recipe! Kid, and husband friendly VEGETARIAN lasagna!

  1. That squash trick is neat – but I am the one in the family who would be most weirded out by that. I should show this to Hubby and let him trick me 🙂

  2. Sounds totally awesome!! It might be the first lasagna recipe I'd try myself!I'm sure Gaurav would eat it happily if I don't tell him there's NO meat involved! 😉

Leave a Reply

