Recipe! Husband approved "Hot Mess in a Pan"

I think it is funny that Gerg calls this a “hot mess in a pan”. I have no clue why, I think he is just “special” This is not vegan. It is lower in fat, though, and pretty “good” for you!

1 package turkey kielbasa
1 cup frozen peas
1 cup frozen corn
3 cups minute rice
3 cups water
1/4 cup onions diced
1 TBSP garlic, minced
cajun seasoning
2 TBSP Olive Oil
1 can cream of celery soup (I get the 98% fat free Campbells junk)
If it is Evan, I toss some shredded cheddar on it. Cause he FREAKS about peas. I have no clue why.

I digress

So chop that keilbasa into chunks. I split the whole dang log down the center, then cut into slices.

Heat up the oil in a big sautee pan (mine has high sides. Loke a pot/pan hybrid.)

Toss in the garlic and onions, and brown them. Add in the keilbasa, and brown that.

Pour in the water, and rice, and bring the whole dang mess to a boil.

As SOON as it bubbles, toss in the peas, and corn, toss a lid on it, turn the fire off, and let it sit for about 7 minutes.

Do something useful like set the table, remove a stray pea from your 10 month old’s nose, lock chil complaining about the sight of pea into the back room.

After 7 minutes, toss some cajun seasoning on the mess, and the can of cream of celery, and stir it all in.

Turn the heat back on, and stir until the whole thing is warmed back up abit.

Toss it into bowls, and let your family marvel at how awesome-tastic your meal is.

Family scores from 1-10:

Gerg: 7
Moi: 8
Monkey: 7 (after telling him to forget there were peas in there)
Gory: **applause**

Final: We all really like this meal, and I can add or subtract stuff as I need. Like you can use frozen mixed veggies. Sometimes I toss in some diced ham or sausage. Or chicken. You can leave out the seasoning, or use cream of mushroom or chicken (I lived in Louisiana for a while, so I love me some cajun seasoning). It is really simple to make, with lilttle prep time. Plus, it is easy for  Gory to enjoy with us as well!

4 thoughts on “Recipe! Husband approved "Hot Mess in a Pan"

  1. Hey this is kinda similar to my homemade dirty rice. Too bad cajun stuff bothers my nose right now (blame Muffin, normally I can't get enough).Sounds like a tasty post-baby meal!

  2. That does sound nice and yummy!! (if I can forget about the peas, I'm not a big fan of peas, but don't let Evan know what).

Leave a Reply

