Thanksgiving. And Family. My opinion.

I think Thanksgiving sucks. It really does.  Now, even much more so being a business owner, because all Thanksgiving becomes is a stressful day where a big chunk is wasted sitting with my family, eating food, and watching football games, when I should be preparing my shop, and the blog for the next day.
And I know what most of you are thinking, that I am ungrateful.  Well, it is exactly the OPPOSITE of that.  I am grateful and thankful.  To the extreme of BOTH words.  But I do not need a day to celebrate that, because I celebrate my thankfulness and gratitude EVERY day.  I am a blessed person, in so many ways, and the fact that society NEEDS a SPECIFIC day to commemorate that, makes me angry.
Let me backtrack a bit.  I am adopted, the only two people on the face of the earth that I have EVER met that are blood relatives to me are Monkey and Gory.  That is it, everyone else is collateral damage! 😉 So my ideas and values are a bit different then most.  My family is who I CHOOSE for it to be.  Not who is a blood relative.  My mom and dad CHOSE to adopt me, and they love me unconditionally.  So since I grew up with so much love from a family that TECHNICALLY is not related to me, well then, damnit, why can’t I continue to CHOOSE my family? I have many dear friends, and I choose to call them family.  I have married a wonderful man, and now HIS family is my family! Not a single one of them has and claim on my and my DNA, they are just family, pure and simple, and I treat them as such.  I have lots of friends that I have met through my work, or through the internet, and THEY are my family, and I treat them with the same respect that I would my own mother and father, because they are the same.
So on this day that society has set aside for people to “remember” to be thankful (the thought of this makes me SICK) let us all remember a few things.
Love your neighbor.  Be kind to him, even if he is not kind in return.
Be patient.  With yourself, and with others.
Remember to look at the small things in life, and allow yourself to be dazzled by them.
Believe in miracles, because they do happen.
And love with all your heart.  There is no half-assing love.
I hope everyone has a thankful day tomorrow.  And the day after that, and after that, and after that……………
5 thoughts on “Thanksgiving. And Family. My opinion.

  1. I like this post! I love Thanksgiving, but I agree with you that we should be thankful EVERYDAY, not just when Hallmark says so. And always remember that 98% (ok I am making this percentage up but you get the idea) of your family may not be blood-relatives to you, but they are always 100% your family! Family doesn't mean shared DNA. Your family are the people who love you, support you, and are there for you no matter what. Oh and the ones who care enough to tell you when you are messing up! Thanks for writing this, it put a smile on my face.

  2. We don't have a day dedicate to be grateful over here in Spain, but that doesn't mean we are NOT thankful for the blessings that we have. =D

  3. I also love Thanksgiving, because I get to gather everyone and enjoy their company en masse. That's not to say that I am not thankful every day that I have them. I agree completely with family being those you choose as well as those related by DNA or adoption or marriage. My best friend Scott is coming to my sister's with Blake (my son) and me (Kim is going to Justin's house this year) and he is my family also. As are all the other people who will be at my sister's house.I'm glad you have a wonderful family, an awesome husband and two of the cutest kids ever!

  4. Great post Brooke… I finally had to break it to zaq that I will have to be working tomorrow. He understood. I dont get days off… just like you… and when the day AFTER a holiday happens to be the biggest shopping day of the year, I have to be ready for it… I have been sewing non stop for the last 2 days trying to catch up and restock the store for what could be huge… Every night we snuggle and play with the kids… we put them to bed together… we have family day every chance we can… and i agree… i may sound like an ass, but I can't waste a whole day watching zaq watch football when i could be working to make us money… for our family…. The family & business that I work very hard for… and am beyond thankful for… Gunna link up to this post… it should be read 🙂

  5. I was happy to see this post! I lost my dad 15 years ago about a month before Thanksgiving and I think the holiday makes me feel a bit melancholy. Plus, I haven't been to a big family gathering, or a gathering with all of my own immediate family, for almost the same number of years. Sometimes Thanksgiving just feels like gluteny to me. I will enjoy a modest celebration with my little family and some friends tomorrow, but I don't need a special holiday to reflect on my life and feel grateful for all of its wonders!

Leave a Reply

